Dying battery and suspend

Since some time ago, I could not use the computer on battery for too long, and as time passed, the time was getting smaller. The last time was in an airport, trying to get the last minute work before catching an airplane and within 5 min the laptop was dead and no plugs were to be found. Sigh.

Finally got to the Lenovo agent in a chat, who directed me to run a diagnostic test to check all hardware and a local contact to buy a battery. And after some personal obstacles was able to order the battery and book the service to have it changed.

When the equipment was ready, they showed me the battery… it was one and a half the the normal size. I was told that I was lucky it did not explode on me and that it did not seem to have damaged anything.

Which leads me to… now I need suspend to work correctly as the laptop should not be plugged in continuously but only when it reaches 15% until is fully charged.

The laptop suspends well when closing the lid or when there is 20 minutes of inactivity with a blank screen. However, when trying to use upower (https://upower.freedesktop.org/docs/UPower.html) which attemps to hybernate, the laptop hangs…

Some related blogs:

When trying to figure out what happened, I wanted to check the syslog:

I think the the problem is that upower always wants to hibernate, which uses the disk, and the I might not have a swap space defined. Closing the lid suspends, which uses the ram, but of course needs a minimum of energy supply. The logs were too crowded. I need to attacked those other errors: gitea is not happy, the xserver is complaining, en fin, another kettle of fish.

Leave a comment