Super Spread Sheet S³

Or little computing tricks and hacks

git: comparing with remote branches

I have a Rails app which is deployed in Heroku and its source is in bitbucket. In Heroku I have in fact two instances: staging and production. When I came back after a break on the project, I wanted to compare what was deployed or committed where, as I knew that a JavaScript bug had prevented me to have a full deployment.

git works with branches so the comparison I want to make, takes place between branches, regardless of where they are located.

To lists local and remote branches, run the command:

git branch -a

The output for my app looks something like this:

  ...
  master
  remotes/origin/master
  remotes/heroku/master
  remotes/staging/master
  ...

The first line is the local working branch, the second in the remote master branch in bitbucket, the last two lines are the production and staging branches in heroku.

I can simply run git diff with the name of the two branches to get a detail description, line by line, of the differences:

git diff remotes/heroku/master remotes/staging/master

To get the list of only the files that are different, use the following command:

git diff --stat --color master remotes/heroku/master

Sources:

Leave a Reply

